<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">


    <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=ISO-8859-1">
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="uscon.css">
    <title>Article VII </title>


    <div id="navigation">
      <a href="index.html">US Constitution</a> &gt;
      <a href="index.html#articles">Articles</a> &gt;
      Article VII 

    <div id="bodytext">
    <p>The Ratification of the Conventions of nine States, shall be sufficient for the Establishment of this Constitution between the States so ratifying the Same. </p>
    <p>Done in Convention by the Unanimous Consent of the States present the Seventeenth Day of September in the Year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and Eighty seven and of the Independence of the United States of America the Twelfth. In Witness whereof We have hereunto subscribed our Names. </p>
    <p>Go Washington - President and deputy from Virginia </p>
    <p>New Hampshire - John Langdon, Nicholas Gilman </p>
    <p>Massachusetts - Nathaniel Gorham, Rufus King </p>
    <p>Connecticut - Wm Saml Johnson, Roger Sherman </p>
    <p>New York - Alexander Hamilton </p>
    <p>New Jersey - Wil Livingston, David Brearley, Wm Paterson, Jona. Dayton </p>
    <p>Pensylvania - B Franklin, Thomas Mifflin, Robt Morris, Geo. Clymer, Thos FitzSimons, Jared Ingersoll, James Wilson, Gouv Morris </p>
    <p>Delaware - Geo. Read, Gunning Bedford jun, John Dickinson, Richard Bassett, Jaco. Broom </p>
    <p>Maryland - James McHenry, Dan of St Tho Jenifer, Danl Carroll </p>
    <p>Virginia - John Blair, James Madison Jr. </p>
    <p>North Carolina - Wm Blount, Richd Dobbs Spaight, Hu Williamson </p>
    <p>South Carolina - J. Rutledge, Charles Cotesworth Pinckney, Charles Pinckney, Pierce Butler </p>
    <p>Georgia - William Few, Abr Baldwin </p>
    <p>Attest: William Jackson, Secretary </p>